Back from Souvenir Land

Where's my bobblehead?

Where's my bobblehead?

I’ve just returned from Washington DC.  A fabulous place for all ages.  Before going somebody told me this was Disney for adults, and now I know why.  I lost count how many times I gasped in wonder at each successive vista and artifact or monument.  My son, however, had the best time.  In true ten-year-old style, he said the best part of his trip was all the souvenir shops!  I have to admit, there were almost more collections of made-in-China pencils and kitsch than paintings in the museums but after wading through the usual complement of snow globes, plates, and magnets, there were a few real trinkets worth buying to commemorate our trip.  The best one, I think, is the Barack Obama mousepad now upon which all my future chapters will be written.  It was truly Obamaland there and I, for one, was thrilled.  I’d go back in a heartbeat, and were I to have about another grand or two in my wallet, my kid would make a beeline for the roadside T-shirt stands. 

 

What a country!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://2ndhandroses.wordpress.com/2009/06/22/back-from-souvenir-land/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Pretty funny and true! How many copies of the place you’re visiting do they really need to make LOL

  2. That’s so true. I’ve been to places and it’s always the same stuff in each store, probably all made in the same place. But I am as guilty as the next one. I’ve got lots of souvenirs from my travels myself.


Leave a Reply

